Tour Championship: results, report and photos

Phenomenal Foxhills decides the 2018 Order of Merit!
What better way to complete the season-long Order of Merit tables, comprising a total of 371 players, than holding our Tour Championship at the stunning Foxhills Resort in Surrey, on a glorious sunny Sunday, with all divisions playing 18 holes!
Huge thanks go to Foxhills for hosting us, and to our event sponsor, Custom Lab Golf, as well as to our headline sponsor, Project 11. Their support meant that the trophy and prize tables looked very impressive indeed!
Many divisions’ final standings were decided by the double points on offer, the Sky Sports cameras certainly added to the occasion, nerves definitely jangled, but the experience brought out the best in plenty.
The 6 & Under Tour Championship saw arguably the biggest field in this age group anywhere in the UK compete and produced a fitting end to the season on The Manor course, with single shots separating the top 3. Lucas Skilbeck produced a stunning 75 to secure his maiden win in this division, ahead of Sully Donald in second with a 76, and Sebastian Duffield in third with 77.
Stella Walters and Georgia Groves required a countback in the Girls’ division, after matching 113s, with Stella claiming first place.
Mr CJ, the Foxhills mascot, did a fantastic job as starter, with children and adults alike delighted by his surprise appearance!
Fraser Walters topped the 7-8 Tour Championship leaderboard with a fine 80 round the Longcross course, Nikolai Wilding claimed second place after an 84, with Michael Haywood in third, just a single shot further back. Sapphire Boyce, the only girl in the 7-8 category, took the Girls’ trophy with 107.
An incredible 3-way tie at the top of the 9-10 division (Longross  course) required a countback to separate matching 84s: Ronnie Groves edged the narrowest of wins ahead of Henry Price and Billy Wood, respectively. In the Girls’ division, Lila-Belle Nacca took first place with 99, ahead of Alanna Ross on 109.
How many great rounds start with a double bogey? Well, this was certainly the case for Peter Pan, as he claimed top spot in the 11-13 division (Longcross course) with a brilliant 69, which started with a double but included an eagle 2 at the Par 4 10th. Tyler Weaver edged out Jack Lee for the runner’s-up place with his level par 72, a shot better than Jack. In the Girls’ division, Sunny Wang scored 78 to take the winner’s trophy, with Millie May Penfold in second on 84.
Lewis Beeden fired a brilliant 72 round the Bernard Hunt course to win the Best Gross title by 5 shots from Max Weaver and Teddy Hall, who also required a countback to separate their 77s, with Max coming out on top. Ciara Egan claimed the Girls’ Gross title on 87, ahead of Erin Earl in second on 95. This left Nihal Shah to take the Best Net winner’s trophy after his 72, but only by a single shot from Mark Stockdale.
The Order of Merit Champions were only decided once the above results were added, and what a difference they made!
Lewis Beeden’s win, under some pressure at the top of the table, was enough to secure both the Gross and Net Order of Merit titles, which is an outstanding achievement. Jake Plumb finished in the runner-up position and Max Weaver claimed third.
Mark Stockdale climbed a number of places in the Net division to finish behind Lewis in the Net OOM and Jake Plumb leapfrogged Ben Searle to take third place after the Tour Championship result.
Long-time 11-13 Order of Merit leader, Jack Lee, overcame a sickness bug and produced another fine display at the Tour Championship to secure the title ahead of Paul Collington, and Jessica Pilgrim, who has represented the girls magnificently all season.
Places also remained as they were going into the Tour Championship in the 9-10 division, as Ronnie Groves claimed the thoroughly-deserved title, with Luca Randall secure in second, ahead of Billy Wood in third.
Ellis Kerr is the 7-8 Order of Merit Champion for 2018, ahead of Michael Haywood, whose Tour Championship third place was not quite good enough to overtake Ellis. Muhammad-Ammaar Mirza finished the season in third.
A very dramatic finish in the 6 & Under division saw Sebastian Duffield jump back to the top of the table, as his third place Tour Championship finish gave him the points required to take the title, ahead of Dylan Barney in second, and Sully Donald in third.
This has been an incredible year in the youngest age group, as 34 players took part over the season, which is an impressive number – junior talent is certainly out there!
We’re sure that every one of the players who took part this year will be raring to go for 2019 and we can’t wait to see them all again!
Last, but not least, congratulations to our inaugural ‘Caddie of the Year’ winners, Paul Donald (caddie to Sully Donald) and John Hawkins (caddie to Freddy Hawkins)!
For full results from the day, click here.